Hall of Fame

Sunday, Cooperstown inducts four new members to the Hall of Fame: Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio. The three pitchers collected nine Cy Young Awards and finished in the top five numerous times. In addition to being All-Star selections, the three were important, integral pivotal hurlers for their teams. Each in his […]

Peter Gammons: Red Sox Hall of Fame: Pedro Martinez vs. Roger Clemens

It is the Red Sox Hall of Fame—not the National Baseball Hall of Fame—induction, held Thursday morning in Boston, not Cooperstown. So as Roger Clemens and Pedro Martinez stand aside one another, arguably the two most dynamic, if not best, pitchers in that franchise’s history and analytically two of the 17 best starters in major […]

Peter Gammons: A Hall of Fame Weekend in Cooperstown

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y.—Henry Aaron’s float was, naturally, near the front of the parade that tours Main Street this July Saturday every year. He was greeted by the crowd loudly chanting “Home Run King, Home Run King,” and when he carefully used his cane to go up the steps to the entrance to The Hall of Fame, […]

Chase Utley’s on his way to Cooperstown

Neil Weinberg is the Founder of New English D, a Senior Analyst at TigsTown, and the Associate Managing Editor at Beyond The Box Score. You can follow and interact with him on Twitter @NeilWeinberg44. Thursday was big for Chase Utley. He launched a walkoff home run to give the Phillies a much needed victory and […]

Peter Gammons: The Hall of Fame Debate; Who belongs in Cooperstown?

When the Hall of Fame balloting is announced January 8 on MLB Network, someone will ask, “who in the world did not vote for Greg Maddux.” Really. He certainly is one of the ten greatest pitchers, ever, whether you care for the 355 wins or being in the top ten in strikeouts or that in […]

The great Eric Nadel heads to the Hall of Fame

I love listening to baseball on radio, which means I love listening to Eric Nadel of the Texas Rangers, who has worked with the team since 1979. Today, Nadel was named the winner of the Baseball Hall of Fame’s Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasting excellence and will be honored on July 26 in Cooperstown, […]